L.A. Girl

My name is Anna. My family lives on a small farm in the rural part of Texas. I grew up surrounded by cows, pigs, and chickens, along with my younger brother. I have just graduated high school and want to explore outside of what I have known my whole life. My parents gifted me a trip to Los Angeles, California for a few days. I pack my bags with essentials and some outfits that I thought would be nice to wear on my trip. I said goodbye to my family as I board my plane. I sat in my seat and looked out the window in excitement as I look at the sky and daydream about all the things I would do and see when I land in California.

I finally arrive to my destination. There are lights shining from all directions and so many tall buildings and so many people walking around in the middle of the night. I take an Uber to my motel room and knock out the moment I touched the bed. Morning comes, and I wake up refreshed and ready to start my day. I look up good restaurants nearby and picked one that I think I would enjoy the most. It was crowded in the restaurant as groups of people wait for a table. As I was being pushed, I took a step back and accidentally bump into the girl that was behind me. As I turned around to apologize, her appearance was blinding. Her face was covered in make-up, her outfit was beautifully revealing, her nails and hair were done, and she was carrying at what looks like a really expensive bag.

I realized that she is someone that is famous. I finally apologized after staring at her for a while. She accepted my apology with a smile. She asked “what is a girl like you doing in a city like this?”. I knew the way I looked and dressed gave me out. I explained to her why I was in L.A. She then invited me to spend the next few days with her. She took me to all of the tourist destinations and took me shopping with her. As we spent the whole day together, a part of me grew envious. I looked up and down at the way I dressed and became embarrassed. I was also embarrassed of the way I talk. I realized how out of place I was in a city of glamour. I want to be like her. I want to live like her. I want to sound like her.

So in the next few days, I tried to hide my accent and only wore clothes that she picked out for me. I think I am doing a good job of trying to hide who I really am. I don’t want to go back home. I don’t want to associate myself as a Southern girl. They’re not pretty, they don’t wear pretty clothes, and they are not glamorous. I want to be an L.A. girl.

I dreaded leaving L.A. and going back home. I still want to stay here but there is no way I can do that. I sadly walked to the plane. When I finally arrived home, I look around and realize how ugly and crummy this place is. My family greeted me at the front door. I looked them up and down and I see how unkempt they are. I was disgusted by the way my family presented themselves and the crappy place I call home. I sit on my bed, staring out the window, dreaming of being in L.A. again.

Review:

I am recreating Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver’s Travels. I am writing a short version of the story with the intention of showing the similarities of Gulliver and Anna. I chose Gulliver’s travels because Jonathan Swift’s writing is plain and simple. He said what he wanted to say and kept it simple for everyone to understand. Gulliver was kicked off of his ship and ended up on the Land of the Houyhnhnms. There, he learns of how “amazing” the Houyhnhnms are. He loses his sense of identity and wanted to be just like them; all so alike without any individuality. I wanted to portray the same thing in my parody. Just like Gulliver, she wants to become something other than who she really is. Gulliver compared the Yahoos as filthy, human-like beings to the majestical horses while she compared her unkempt family to the glamorous girls of L.A. Gulliver thinks that the way to happiness is to be like a Houyhnhnm. He starts talking to horses and associates himself as one of them. My character is a Southern girl trying to hide her accent and wearing nice clothes that looks awkward on her screams desperate. She believed that she was able to hide her identity with material things but doesn’t realize that she looks more like a laughing joke.

-Naomi Van

Leave a Reply

