The Island of Satire

The author leaves Lagado, arrives at Maldonada. Then takes a short trip to Glubbdubdrib.

I arrived at Maldonada with the help of Google Maps. The man at the docks told me that the ships heading towards Luggnagg for an entire month. An entire month! I’ll have to make sure to find a way to charge my phone throughout that time. Another man at the dock told me that I might find it entertainable to go to the island Glubbdubdrib, which if Google is correct translates to Island of Sorcerers or Magicians. When I arrived to the island, the governor was extremely friendly and treated me to a fine feast in my honor. After dinner, the governor told me I was able to call up and shade from the past and talk to them about anything that I would want. The first person I decided to call up was Alexander the Great. Although he only spoke Greek, I was able to understand him and communicate with him through the help of Google translate. Alexander the Great told me that he had died not from poisoning but from alcohol intoxication which astounded me. History had painted him in such beautiful lighting. The next person I called up was Barrack Obama, the 44th President of the United States. I asked him what he had thought about Trump’s campaign and his controversial claims. He then told me that Trump should have stayed quiet about deportation. Obama told me that he had been the president that had deported the most people during his two terms as president. He then also laughed about how people overreacted when Trumped bombed Syria and continued to tell me how he had dropped 26,171 bombs all over the Middle East. Using my calculator app, I calculated that to be seventy-two bombs per day, meaning every hour three bombs were dropped. I was astounded to find all this out about Obama since it was never really brought to light, only his achievements were, such as Obama Care. After trying to wrap my head around everything I had just learned, I decided to call on Winston Churchill. Winston had led Great Britain to victory over Nazi Germany. I had asked him why some saw him as the greatest Britain ever while he was controversial to others. He told me it was because during the Bengal Famine he let four million people starve to death because “they breed like rabbits.” After talking to everyone I finally understood what is was meant by the saying history is written by the victors. I finally understood that historians skew the way we see leaders. They choose to show us how they want us to see them not for who they really were. It’d be better to see people for who they are through literature rather than through history.

Review:

I choose to write a parody of a parody. I choose to write about Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift, specifically part three, chapter seven. I chose this section because it was where Gulliver met great men of history and was shown that wisdom does not come with age. It helped undermine great political figures and helped undercut standard learning. In this chapter, Swift was satirizing historians and skewing the view of his political opponents. He also was able to elevate certain people while simultaneously bringing them down. I chose this scene because I felt that the same could be said about our current leaders. Everyone seemed to love Obama and believe he was doing great thing for the country, and I am not saying he didn’t, but I felt as if not everyone really knew everything he did. Ii felt that Trump was getting a lot of heat because of his blatant comments, not protecting him but just saying what I saw. Everyone was outraged by what he said about immigration and deporting people, while Obama was the president that had deported the most people so far. To top it off, the Obama administration was bombing Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Yemen, Somalia, and Pakistan. He had authorized over ten times as many drone strikes as George W. Bush had. Winston Churchill was also a controversial figure because of his decisions to take no actions to relieve the Indians from their famine has he had believed they had brought it upon themselves. He had also evicted Kenyans from their homes in the fertile highlands of Kenya because he believed that that are should be preserved for the white settlers. I chose to keep the part about Alexander the Great the same to pay homage to the original parody, for it is a great part in my personal opinion. I also tried to modernize it a bit more with the simple added feature of a cellphone because I believe it would be more believable that he was able to communicate with those who spoke different languages because of Google rather than him being a language savant.

-Andres Quezada

One thought on “The Island of Satire

Leave a Reply

