The No Trade Clause

In Robert Cruikshank’s political cartoon Great Britain faced chaos all amongst the levels of society. This pro-slavery cartoon attempting to reveal the irony of Britain’s present political chaos. The general irony of the society is the difference between their countries’ distressed situation compared to the joyful country of the Africa. Immediately I related to this political disaster to the current situation with the one of the United States and the debate of “radical Islamic terror”. Like Great Britain, the United States has many elements of disillusion. For instance, the men protesting against slavery are being paid to be out there and appear as a focus the corruption. The East India trading company, essentially funding the protest. This is similar to the United States paid protesters that receive free propaganda to give the impression that they can fix the corruption when in matter of fact they are the most corrupt. Furthermore, the corruption appears on the anti-slavery moment when we examine the young boys signing the petition. I made the connection to the United States Democratic Party and how they garnered votes from non-citizens to help out their cause.
“Soon after this the blacks who brought me on board went off, and left me abandoned to despair. I now saw myself deprived of all chance of returning to my native country, or even the least glimpse of hope of gaining the shore, which I now considered as friendly; and I even wished for my former slavery in preference to my present situation, which was filled with horrors of every kind, still heightened by my ignorance of what I was to undergo.” (p.30) In this Equiano quote, we can interpret the confirmation of chaos and corruption in the colonialist nations. Equiano shows that corruption of the African slave trade left blacks feeling betrayed by their native country. Equiano references the friendly shore of African which confirms the political cartoons’ depicted shore. Furthermore, the African shores are much less chaotic then the colonial shores that Equiano wished for his former slavery in African rather than the horrors of the Great Britain. .

-Dario Lomeli

One thought on “The No Trade Clause

  1. I like the modern-day reference. Those people tend to be lobbyists. I would have liked to see how Equiano’s economic interest would change that view.

    EC 20/25

    Like

Leave a Reply

